| Home | Match Reports | Fixtures | Tables | Cups | Clubs | Committee | Referees | Information | Roll of Honour | Obituary |     Email Us   StatCounter


Sunday, 18 August 2019


The last quarterfinal of the David Cricton was played with East Chevington at home against Ashington Town Hirst Ind. Chevington side had a tremendous win by 10-2. Leading the scoring was Kevin Bell with a hattrick. Scoring two each were Joe Henderson, Peter Murray and Andrew Murray. Max Anderson scored their other goal. Bradley Higgins scored both goals for the Hirst Industrial. The first semifinal started; however, the game was abandoned after seventeen minutes due to a serious injury

The only game in the premier division saw Newsham Victory win the local derby 3-0 against Blyth Town Sunday. David Lillico led the scoring for the Vic with two. Craig Frazer scored their other goal.

Division one saw Ashington Town Central go down 5-1 at home against new side West Allotment. David Stewart scored for the Central. Ryan Thompson scored four for the Allotment. The final goal was an own goal. The Phoenix Tap from Whitley Bay had an excellent win at home 9-2 against another new side Bedlington Breakers. Luke Celino led the scoring with a hattrick. Liam Said scored twice. Futher goals came from Steven Bourgon, Andrew Jenkins, Chris Barnfather and Jordan Widdowson. Bubbles Ashington and Station Lounge played out a 2-2 draw. Josh Avery and Eathan Bell scored for Bubbles. Ryan Clark and Matty Nelson replied for the Lounge.

Sunday, 11 August 2019


In the David Crichton Memorial Cup quarterfinals, there were wins for Bedlington Social Club and Blyth Town Sunday. Bedlington Social Club won 6-0 away against division one side Ashington Town Central. On target for the Social Club were Peter Roberts and Adam Ord with two each. Richard Eurn and Nick Storey completed the scoring. It was a different story with Blyth Town; they were away against first division Burton House. It was a very close game for the ninety minutes with the scores level at 2-2, however extra time saw Blyth Town score four goals to go through 6-2. Goals for the Burton came from Victor Jefferson and Karl Boughen. Antonie Ridley led the scoring for Blyth Town with four. Daniel Wilson and Dang-Hi Voung completed the scoring.

Next Sunday East Chevington and Ashington Town Hirst Ind play their quarterfinal. In addition, the league games will also start.

Monday, 17 June 2019


At the annual league, presentation night held at New Delaval and Newsham Social Club saw a good turnout for the evening. League Chairman Colin Douglas welcomed the guests, which included league sponsors Standard Security, represented by Suzette, James and Samantha Scott. Stephen Smith and Dave Smith from Whitley Bay Trophies. It was also a welcomed return from League President George Allen. There were also referees who attended.

On to the presentation of awards, which league chairman asked James Scott to present. First awards went to the secretaries of each division for their outstanding work over the season.

Division one award went to Paul Horne from Cambois Club.
Premier division award went to Paul Katz from Blyth Town Sunday.

Next awards were for leading goal scorers from league games only.

Division one award went to Paul Huck from Blyth United Services with 26 goals.
Premier division award went to Damien Stevens from Ashington RAOB with 19 goals.

Next awards were for players of the year with the most man of the match awards league games only.

Player of the year division one was Michael Jordan from Cramlington Burton House with 7.
Player of the year premier division was Ross Gair from Amble Tavern with 8.

Next award was the Bill Young Fair Play, sponsored by Whitley Bay Trophies. This award went to Bubbles Ashington; they also received a cheque for 395.

On to the referees awards.

The Denis Fowler award for referee of the Year went to Paul Davison
Jimmy Scott young referee of the year went to Jack Watts.

Harry Kennedy Achievenent award went to Cambois Club.

Presidents Cup presented by George Allen went to Standard Security; Suzette Scott collected this award on behalf of her company.

Now onto the Club awards.

Eric Anderson Cup sponsored by Co-Op Funeral Care runners up Cambois Club, winners Newsham Victory.

Alan Davison Cup spnsored by Alan Davison, runners up Bedlington Social Club United, winners Amble Tavern.

Saints Shield sponsored by C.R. Scott Ltd. Runners up Ellington Plough, winners Blyth United Services.

Randolph Cup sponsored by Standard Security Ltd, runners up Newsham Victory, winners Bedlington Social Club Utd.

J D Marnock sponsored by Reay Security Ltd, runners up East Chevington Sports & Social, winners Newsham Victory.

George Davison Cup Sponsored by Port Training Services, runners up Bedlington Social Club United, winners Amble Tavern.

League Winners were the last to be presented.

Division one runners up Blyth United Services
League winners Ashington Town Mortimer.

Premier division runners up Amble Tavern.
League winners Ashington RAOB.

League Secretary Frank Scantlebury then thanked New Dealval and Newsham Social Club and Bar Staff for the evening.


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional©2000-2019 Blyth & Wansbeck Sunday LeagueValid CSS!